Review: Losing Clementine

Losing Clementine by Ashley Ream

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

Ratings:

Source: Publisher

Synopsis:

In thirty days Clementine Pritchard will be finished with her last painting and her life.

World-renowned artist and sharp-tongued wit Clementine Pritchard has decided that she’s done. After flushing away a medicine cabinet full of prescriptions, she gives herself thirty days to tie up loose ends—finish one last painting, make nice with her ex-husband, and find a home for her cat. Clementine plans to spend the month she has left in a swirl of art-world parties, manic work sessions, and outrageous acts—but what she doesn’t expect is to uncover secrets surrounding the tragedy that befell her mother and sister. In an ending no one sees coming, will we lose Clementine or will we find her?

Wow! This was not what I was expecting at all when I first picked up Losing Clementine by Ashley Ream. I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the book and I’m definitely looking forward to Ream’s future works.

Clementine decides that she’s done with life, but before ending it, she wants to tie up all the loose ends. Death is so unpredictable and you never really get the chance to plan your own death so it was interesting to see the different steps she took in planning for her death and making sure that all the paperwork was completed and the finances were in order. Each chapter counted down the number of days left to her impending death, and I was shocked by how fast I got through the book. I couldn’t believe it when I was already in single digits and it just makes you realize how fast a month can go by.

In my opinion, one of the things that separate a mediocre book from a great book is the characters. Clementine was an absolute delight and treat to follow around. She’s feisty, artistic, not always there, but a complete hoot to be around. There were moments in the book where I had to remind myself that she was suicidal because she seemed like your average girl that you would never know she was suffering from depression and was in the process of planning her own death. It definitely put things in perspective and makes you realize how some people can be hiding their depression from you.

I absolutely loved everything about this book from the beginning to the ending. I was shocked by the ending, but pleasantly pleased by the outcome even though it was a tad open-ended. I am the type of person that likes my books tied up in these neat little packages and have everything spelled out for me in the end, but this was one of those instances where the ending just seemed fitting.

Losing Clementine was a delightful book to read and despite its dark overtones with suicide and everything, it’s a fun and witty book that everyone would enjoy.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on March 8, 2012, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This sounds SO SO SO good. Great review.

  2. Wow, you’ve made me very curious about the ending!

  3. I’m intrigued by this one but worried it’ll be too sad — though the reviews I’ve seen all make it sound like a delight! I might give it a try sometime.

  4. Very very nice review. I wasn’t familiar with this one but it sounds like one I’d like.

  5. This one is new to me, but it sounds like a great read. Thanks for the review!

  6. I will definitely keep this one in mind. It sounds really good!

  7. This sounds like kind of an intense subject that the author was able to keep oddly humourous. I need to check it out!

Leave a Reply

