Review: Dancing on Broken Glass

Dancing on Broken Glass by Ka Hancock

Publisher: Gallery Books

Ratings:

Source: Publicist

From the cover:

Lucy Houston and Mickey Chandler probably shouldn’t have fallen in love, let alone gotten married. They’re both plagued with faulty genes—he has bipolar disorder; she, a ravaging family history of breast cancer. But when their paths cross on the night of Lucy’s twenty-first birthday, sparks fly, and there’s no denying their chemistry.

Cautious every step of the way, they are determined to make their relationship work—and they put their commitment in writing. Mickey will take his medication. Lucy won’t blame him for what is beyond his control. He promises honesty. She promises patience. Like any marriage, there are good days and bad days—and some very bad days. In dealing with their unique challenges, they make the heartbreaking decision not to have children. But when Lucy shows up for a routine physical just shy of their eleventh anniversary, she gets an impossible surprise that changes everything. Everything. Suddenly, all their rules are thrown out the window, and the two of them must redefine what love really is.

Wow! Dancing on Broken Glass by Ka Hancock was absolutely amazing and brilliant, heartwarming and touching, and spectacularly breathtaking! After reading the synopsis, I thought it was going to be a sad book, but I had no idea what was coming and how much this book was going to affect me. Let me warn you now that if you plan on reading this book, make sure you have a box of Kleenex with you.

Quite honestly, as I sit here trying to review this book, I’m at a loss for words. How do you describe a book that opens your eyes and makes you realize how beautiful life can be even with imperfect people. Lucy and Mickey were hands down some of my favorite characters to run across. They were imperfect in every way possible, yet somehow they found a way to make life work in their favor. They pulled at your heartstrings and you ached for them when they went through a rough patch. And as I read the book, I felt like I really got to know these characters and they weren’t just merely characters, but they could have been my friends in another life.

I don’t think I ever really understood the ramifications of having bipolar disorder until I read this book. I always assume that people diagnosed with bipolar disorder weren’t able to control their emotions, similar to having anger management issues or something along those lines. It wasn’t until I read this book that I felt like I had a greater understanding of what it meant to be diagnosed with bipolar disorder. I didn’t realize the number of medication you had to take for it or the line you had to tread to remain in perfect balance.

I can already see Dancing on Broken Glass landing somewhere on my best of 2012 list. It’s a book that will make you cry, but I also feel that it’s worth the tears to read it.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on April 2, 2012, in 4.5 stars, book reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wow, that sounds like a very emotional book. I know little about bipolar disorder so it would be eye opening for me too.

  2. Oh, I’m going to add this one to my wish list. It sounds similar to Outside the Lines by amy Hatvany.

  3. Oh wow. What a great review. Sounds like it really had an effect on you. Bravo!

  4. Just reading the synopsis here this book captured my attention. Knowing you enjoyed it so much, well now I just have to read it!

  5. I really like the sound of this – hadn’t hear of it before but it sounds compelling.

  1. Pingback: Review: More Like Her « toothy books

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 30 other followers