Review: Prey

Prey by Michael Crichton

Publisher: Harper Perennial

Ratings:

Source: Borrowed

From the cover:

In the Nevada desert, an experiment has gone horribly wrong. A cloud of nanoparticles — micro-robots — has escaped from the laboratory. This cloud is self-sustaining and self-reproducing. It is intelligent and learns from experience. For all practical purposes, it is alive.

It has been programmed as a predator. It is evolving swiftly, becoming more deadly with each passing hour.

Every attempt to destroy it has failed.

And we are the prey.

I love reading mystery books and I’m shocked at myself that I haven’t read Jurassic Park or anything by Michael Crichton for that matter. To put it simply, Prey by Michael Crichton was an interesting book in a completely illogical kind of way.

To really enjoy Prey, you have to throw reason and logic out of the window. The premise behind the book is quite farfetched and unreasonable and if you try to think too hard about it and attempt to make sense of it then you probably won’t like it. I did like how some of the scientific things that were mentioned in the book rang a bell and made me think ‘hey I learned about this in microbiology’ and ‘hey that sounds familiar.’ It’s always nice to know that my dental education is going to good use!

One of the other things that I really enjoyed about this book was that the narrator, Jack, reminded me so much of my friend. I can’t even pinpoint why or what it is about the character that made me think of him, but after I finished reading this book I told my friend he had to read it because he’s in it.

Prey is one of those books that you read just to pass the time. It’s a fast read and I’ll admit that once I started it I wanted to finish it immediately, but then after I finished it, I quickly forgot it and moved on to the next book without really thinking about it.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on April 16, 2012, in 3 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I do enjoy Crichton’s books. It’s been a while since I read this one so I don’t remember much about it. My favorite of his work is Rising Sun.

  2. boardinginmyforties

    This sounds like a perfect airplane read!

  3. I read Prey when I was in middle school and pushed my black furry dog off the bed because I thought he was one of those robot creatures. I agree- Crichton is a lot more fun when you read without paying close attention to the science!

Leave a Reply

