Review: More Like Her

More Like Her by Liza Palmer

Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks

Ratings:

Source: Publicist

From the cover:

What really goes on behind those perfect white picket fences?

In Frances’s mind, beautiful, successful, ecstatically married Emma Dunham is the height of female perfection. Frances, recently dumped with spectacular drama by her boyfriend, aspires to be just like Emma. So do her close friends and fellow teachers, Lisa and Jill. But Lisa’s too career-focused to find time for a family. And Jill’s recent unexpected pregnancy could have devastating consequences for her less-than-perfect marriage.

Yet sometimes the golden dream you fervently wish for turns out to be not at all what it seems–like Emma’s enviable suburban postcard life, which is about to be brutally cut short by a perfect husband turned killer. And in the shocking aftermath, three devastated friends are going to have to come to terms with their own secrets . . . and somehow learn to move forward after their dream is exposed as a lie.

This book is the perfect example of why you should never judge a book by its cover. I’ll be the first to admit that I commit that crime often even though I know I shouldn’t do it. When I first saw More Like Her by Liza Palmer, I thought this was going to be another fast and fun chick lit novel that will cheer me up. You see, after reading Bloom and Dancing on Broken Glass (books that I love dearly despite their depressing undertones), I thought I needed a book that wouldn’t make me cry my eyes out. So you can say I was pretty shocked when the prologue of the book opened up to a 911 call with descriptions of a shooting.

Although this book was different from what I expected, I still enjoyed it. It covered a lot of different topics from bullying and domestic violence to discovering yourself and bringing down the wall you built around yourself. I really have to credit Palmer for creating a story that is so realistic. The other day I was having a discussion with a friend and she told me how much she loved reading Kristin Hannah’s works (I haven’t read any of her works yet) because of how real the characters and situation are in her books. After reading this book I knew that I had to pass this one on to her.

It was so easy to see this story unfold before my eyes and it was easy to picture this happening in the real world. She covered the different subjects so well and she really nailed the different emotions that the characters went through in the aftermath.

I absolutely loved and adore the characters in this book. Every single character in this book came to life and felt so real. I could see myself running into all of these characters in my day to day life. I felt like these women were people who I knew. I really enjoyed watching the transformation that Frances went through and how she grew from the event and found herself.

I highly recommend More Like Her by Liza Palmer. It was different from what I expected, but I loved the meaning behind the book and the feeling it left in me after I finished it.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on April 20, 2012, in 4 stars, book reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I’m guilty of judging a book by it’s cover too. I’m glad to know this one is deeper than the cover indicates. It sounds wonderful!

  2. Sounds fantastic. Great review.

  3. I too thought this fell into chick lit realm (not a bad thing, I don’t mind some chick lit in my life) but it sounds a lot more involved (also a good thing). Going to check this one out on Kobo. (Interestingly, Kobo has a different cover – some great boots – but still chick lit stereotypes).

  4. It totally looks like chick lit (which I love) but it sounds like a good book of a different genre instead. Awesome!

  5. I do admit, I judge books by their covers. I’m a marketers dream! This one sounds fantastic, i’ll be adding it to my wish list.

  6. wow, when i first took a look at the cover i thought, ‘well, that looks like a fun beachy read’…and then i read your review! i’m also guilty of judging books by their covers but am glad the story had a good message and that you’d recommend it. 🙂

  7. I have read two other Liza Palmer books and really liked them – like you, I found them to be deeper than I would have expected and the characters stayed with me which is always a mark of a good book for me.

    Will have to pick this one up!

Leave a Reply

