Review: Sacre Bleu

Sacre Bleu by Christopher Moore

Publisher: William Morrow

Ratings: 

Source: Publisher

It is the color of the Virgin Mary’s cloak, a dazzling pigment desired by artists, an exquisite hue infused with danger, adventure, and perhaps even the super natural. It is . . . Sacré Bleu

In July 1890, Vincent van Gogh went into a cornfield and shot himself. Or did he? Why would an artist at the height of his creative powers try to take his life . . . and then walk a mile to a doctor’s house? Who was the crooked little “color man” Vincent claimed was stalking him? And why had Vincent recently become terrified of a certain shade of blue?

These questions confront baker-turned-painter Lucien Lessard and bon vivant Henri Toulouse-Lautrec as they seek the truth of their friend’s untimely death, a quest that will lead them on a surreal odyssey through late 19th-century Paris.

Have you ever run into a person and you thought ‘Man, what would it be like to spend a day in his or her mind?’ That’s how I feel about Christopher Moore. I just want to spend a day inside his head and see how he comes up with all of these ideas. I haven’t read a ton of books by Moore and to be honest I think the only other book I’ve ready by him is Bloodsucking Fiends. But he always surprises me with his creativity. Sacre Bleu is different from anything I’ve read before, but in a completely good way.

Honestly, I’m not even sure how to review this book without giving anything away. And it would be a shame if I spoiled it for you. Sacre Bleu started with such an easy concept: figuring out why van Gogh would shoot himself and then walk a mile to seek medical attention. Of course from there, the book just spiraled out of control and it took me on this journey that I never saw coming.

The beginning did start off a little confusing. There were so many different characters and so much was going on that I got lost with who was doing what. Not to mention that pretty much everyone was an artist so it was easy to mix up the names. Once the real story started though and things settled down, I was hooked. It was extremely clear that Moore did some extensive research while writing this book. And I’m not exactly sure what his objective was in writing this book, but he did give me a greater appreciation for art.

Things were just aligning for me while I was reading this book and I was able to stop by my local fine arts museum while I was reading this book. It was definitely exciting to see the paintings of the different characters in this book. While I know a lot of the things mentioned in the book were Moore’s own creation, there were also some facts in the book that I didn’t know about either and its always interesting to learn something new.

Sacre Bleu is different from other books and it is definitely one of those books that are outside of the box, but those interested in art should give this one a try. There’s some humor in this book too, but I think it depends on your sense of humor for you to find it funny or not. I enjoyed reading this book and it gave me something to think about besides my upcoming exam.

[ purchase from amazon ] [ visit the author ]

Posted on July 16, 2012, in 3.5 stars, book reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I’ve only read Fool, and the bawdy humor was funny initially but quickly became tiring. This one sounds like it might be better.

  2. I’ve never tried Moore’s work but so many people love it I feel like I should give it a try. I have a feeling it might be over my head.

  3. I’ve never read any of Moore’s stuff but this one is veryyyy tempting!

  4. boardinginmyforties

    I’ve heard good things about Moore in the past. This one definitely sounds appealing to me and I’d love to give it a try to see what I might think about it.

Leave a Reply

